Center For Addiction Research Faculty

CAR was established in August of 2004 at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences and resides within the five-story, 110,000 square-foot Psychiatric Research Institute. CAR has five primary faculty and three faculty affiliates.

Alison Oliveto, Ph.D., Professor of Psychiatry. Director, CAR: behavioral pharmacology; abuse liability; phase I/II trials; medications development; substance use prevention; Arkansas Statewide Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup

Michael Mancino, M.D., Professor of Psychiatry. Director, UAMS Center for Addiction Services and Treatment: addiction psychiatry; clinical trials; medication for opioid use disorders treatment expansion

Merideth Addicott, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Psychiatry: cognitive neuroscience; behavioral pharmacology; tobacco use disorders

Linda Larson-Prior, Ph.D., Professor of Psychiatry. Director, Neurocognitive Dynamics Laboratory: cognitive neuroscience, neuroimaging, neurophysiology, sleep

Nihit Kumar, M.D., Assistant Professor of Psychiatry. Training Director, ChildĀ  and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship: addiction psychiatry; drug use and mental health disorders in children, adolescents, and/or adults

Srinivasa Gokarakonda, M.D., Assistant Professor of Psychiatry: drug use and mental health disorders in children, adolescents, adults; enhancing provider education regarding the identification and treatment of drug use disorders

Patricia Wright, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Research, College of Nursing (CON). Director of the CON Doctoral Training Program: qualitative and mixed methods research; identifying barriers and facilitators to accessing and remaining in treatment for drug use disorders